look! i got an award!

So guys, I got kindly nominated for an award through Rox at Adverse Universe. Although I can’t say that all of her posts are particularly enjoyable, her art is fabz and pretty lolz, plus her recovery experiences are both inspiring, honest and insightful I think. Also, she’s a bit of a bod and as we all know, bods are pretty nang. So yer, you should check it out if you haven’t, though I’m reckoning most of the people who read this would have already.  Genuinely caring woman with a pretty comprehensive handle on words and images.

It’s a bit strange to get nominated for things. I don’t really get the whole thing really. I don’t write primarily for a blog audience, but for my actual friends who read this. I don’t really do that much blog promotion and I’m not trying to share actually interesting or original things, but just want to let the friends that never went away know a bit about me and how I got to the place I’m in and why I can be a bit of a weirdo. However, as I got kinda more into the blog thing, I realised that the community experience thing is entirely fantastic. I’ve found so much support from some seriously admirable people and it honestly makes the whole recovery processes ten million billion times less lonely. I mean, on purely a physical kick, recovery is entirely lonely. Gaining weight is something no one seems to do all that much and society tends to frown upon it. Having a bunch of people who are going through the same thing makes it feel more acceptable, which I think makes it easier. And then there’s the thought processes and all that stuff, and to be honest, it’s so good to have other people talk about their experiences. You realise that actually, although the people are different, the eating disorders are all kinda the same. It makes the disordered stuff easier to identify and you find out so many useful ways of working through if from the experiences of others. So yer, getting awards is a bit weird, but in a good way because this tiny corner of the blog world has been an incredibly asset in my recovery. It’s nice because you feel more included.

Without further ado.

The steps to take, preferably with joy

1. Include the award logo somewhere in your blog.
2. Answer these 10 questions, below, for fun if you want to.
3. Nominate 10 to 12 blogs you enjoy. Or you pick the number.
4. Pay the love forward: Provide your nominee’s link in your post and comment on their blog to let them know they’ve been included and invited to participate.
5. Pay the love back with gratitude and a link to the blogger(s) who nominated you.

The Questions: 

1. What is your favorite colour?

Yellow. It’s just so happy.

2. What is your favorite animal?

Slow lorises. Because they are just so unbelievably slow. And great white sharks. Because sharks get such a bad rep, but they’re just so good. They’re so perfectly evolved and so brutal. I always want them to win in documentaries. I really like predators in general. And whales. Because they are HUGE.

3. What is your favorite non-alcoholic drink?

Coffee. Or diet coke, but I’m ashamed at diet coke because I know just how evil they are. I got over that addiction for a bit, but then I stopped smoking and got re-addicted. When I’m more comfy not smoking, I’m gonna try cut back again.

4. Do you prefer Facebook or Twitter?

I don’t understand twitter, so facebook. But I hate facebook. So much. And to be honest, I don’t really understand it either. Plus I just end up staring at all the people I know who are more beautiful than me and living way better lives. Essentially, it makes me feel bad about myself. So maybe twitter.

5. What is your favorite pattern?

You know something? I have never even considered this. I’ve never looked at a pattern and thought “now that is slightly better than polka dot, but not as good as paisley.” I’m trying to pick a pattern I like out of the ones I can see, but my room is full of clashing patterns so it’s slightly overwhelming. Plus then there are all those patterns in nature. And I’ve taken enough hallucinogens to really appreciate a good fractal. I think I like patterns too much to decide, though now I’m going to put serious thought into a pattern top five because I think I’ve found a hole in my rolling, internal top five index.

6. Do you prefer giving or getting presents?

I’m rubbish at buying presents, and I love to get them so probably receive, though that makes me sound like a bitch. I always worry that I’ll get the present wrong and the other person will hate it thus hate me and think I’m an idiot. I spend hours and hours looking for the perfect gift when I go present shopping and end up getting really upset and stressed and spending far more money than I can afford in the hunt for the perfect give, then hate everything I’ve bought anyway and feel ashamed to give them to people. It’s stressful. I tend to like all the presents I get though because in general, I tend to like stuff. Plus it’s so lovely that people care enough. However, I do really like buying treats for people. Not presents, but treats. I like baking for them, or buying especially nice chocolate for them, or tickets for a night out, or dinner, or cocktails, or stupid cheap plastic toot that makes me laugh, or picnics. It’s not the same as presents though, its implusive treats that require no thought.

7. What is your favorite number?

Eight. I used to eat in eights, when I’m stressed I do eights (write or say or tap eight sets of eight sets of eights. By the time you’ve done, you’re calmer because you really have to concentrate. If you get it wrong, you have to start again, so it required concentration) and other, so good, some a lot less good things. Just in general, eight looks and feels comfortable, it feels like a nice complete set, it multiplies and divides well, plus the digit is continuous so leaves nothing hanging. I promise you though, I’m really not OCD.

8. What is your favorite day of the week?

Tuesday. Because it feels fresh. The worst is Thursday. Thursday is always stormy.

9. What is your favorite flower?

Umm… A yellow one? I really don’t know flowers. I like daffodils because the grow in the forest and the dandelions on my lawn, but there are nicer flowers out there, I just don’t know what they are or worry enough about them. I like trees and moss and lichen best. Flowers are pretty, but not as interesting to me.

10. What’s your passion?

You know what, I’m actually quite low on passion at the moment. When I’m able to feel passionate, I am about my subjects (anthropology and archaeology both), though I do genuinely believe that anthropology is actual such a crucial discipline when used correctly. Actually, archaeology is aswell. Much more than history. Archaeology is the only way to learn facts about the human past. Lots of people think archaeology naturally feeds into historical facts and this isn’t strictly true. Archaeologists and historians disagree all the time, though use each others findings to fuel their own analyses of the past. History comes from documents, archaeology comes from things. And because of that, archaeology proves historical evidence wrong pretty regularly. Documents aren’t fact, they are the opinion of someone from the past. Things are facts though. How we interpret either is entirely subjective and completely fallible, but the fact that things existed in the places they were found at certain times is fact. Plus without archaeology, all of prehistory would be completely unknowable. I’m also passionate about science, politics and the things I hate. I hate with a passion even when I’m not full of enjoyable passion. I passionately hate.

Nominees. Most of the blogs I read have been nominated elsewhere. Or they seem to have stopped blogging for the moment. Or I read them secretly so they don’t know and I don’t really want to spring a “hey – You don’t know me but…” on anyone. I’ve been kinda floating in and out of blogging due to university stresses (which is now on to dissertation. All day. Every day. Really depressing. All the time) so haven’t had much time to involve myself in some of the blogs I’ve more recently found. I will mention two though that I haven’t noticed nominated elsewhere.

Have your cake – Really lolz, really nice, recovery orientated blog. Genuinely a favorite blog and so helpful to me. And suitably grumpy which I actually enjoy. So many shared experiences and so much help and support.

With Eyes Closed I Look Closer – I’m pretty sure she was one of the first people to read my blog after my real world friends. She’s struggled a lot but is making serious headway in recovery at the moment and is honestly a really supportive friend so deserves  a shout out. Without this blogger, it would have taken me a lot longer to find my blogging stride, plus it would have been a lot lonelier.

All the other peeps I like and read should just do this too. I officially nominate you, if you haven’t already been :).

So there you go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

